Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Throughout the Star Wars saga, we've seen Jedi Knights and Sith Lords use different fighting styles. Some are very aggressive, some have impenetrable defenses, while others focus on agility and precision. These fighting styles come from different forms of lightsaber combat that evolved over the centuries to overcome the sinister threats of rising Sith Lords and Dark Jedi.

As we know from the Star Wars saga, there are seven forms of lightsaber combat. All formats vary in approach and tactics.

Form I: Shii-Cho

Form I is the first lightsaber fighting form, also known as Sarlacc's Decisive Form and Way. The Sarlacc is a Tattoine creature that hides underground waiting for its prey. Boba Fett is the same creature that appears in "The Book of Boba Fett". series. Due to the persistence of this form, like that creature, it was named "Sarlacc Way of the Sarlacc".

With this new invention, lightsabers can cut from all angles, unlike metal swords that can only cut in one direction. Shii-Cho is limited to basic offensive and defensive moves. Like the original metal sword, the Shii-Cho Form only offers basic attacks and a block from another lightsaber.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form II: Makashi

Makashi was invented in response to defeat in Shu-Chii form, which is ineffective in lightsaber duels. Makashi is more about lightsaber vs. lightsaber dueling than any other form.

It's an elegant form of fighting that takes a lot of training to master. Unlike Shu- Chii, which is more of a wild lightsaber attack, Makashi Form is all about delivering precise and accurate strikes to flat-footed opponents and disarming them.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form III: Soresu

The third lightsaber fighting form is called Soresu, also known as the flex form. It is also known as the "Road of Minoc". Soresu evolved from Makashi, form II, which relies on its accuracy and agility. Unlike Makashi, Soresu has always been used as a defense. Soresu can enhance the user's ability to observe and respond to the surrounding environment. Soresu was originally conceived as a form that would allow you to counter blaster attacks in combat with lightsaber wielders, but it has also evolved to the point of deflecting bullets.

The third type of Soresu in lightsaber fighting does not allow violent strikes, or even precise slashes. It can only be used in the form of lightsaber to maximize the defense. A Soresu user trains himself and his reflexes better than the average person. Soresu users hold the blade close to the body, which blocks bullets from any direction. They keep their bodies in such a position to minimize the exposure of their bodies to any remote shock waves.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form IV: Atalu

Ataru is the fourth form of lightsaber combat, also known as the aggression form. Ataru is an advanced form of the 7 lightsaber combat forms that require a combination of Force abilities and lightsaber skills. Jedi Knights must be trained in the ways of the Force in order to learn the Atalu form. They can only master Ataru after they have learned the basics of previous forms of lightsaber combat.

As the name "aggressive form". Saying that, Ataru is an attack form that attacks with a lightsaber in succession until he gets his chance. An Ataru practitioner is expected to dominate his opponent with a barrage of lightsaber slashes and claim victory within minutes. Ataru also requires a combination of Form III to master it properly. Soresu only allows defense, while Ataru allows the Jedis to advance towards the opponent while blocking projectile attacks like blasters. Both offense and defense, and the ability to quickly get close to the opponent, help the Jedi Knight to win in the long run.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form V: Shien & Djem

The V-shape of the lightsaber combat form is called Shien & Djem So, also known as the Perseverance form. Another attempt to solve the Soresu form problem resulted in Form V: Shien and Djem. Ataru was developed to solve the Soresu problem, but it was developed from scratch. However, Shien & Djem So is derived from Soresu (Form III) with some modifications in defense.

Form V has two halves, Shien and Djem. Shien focuses on keeping a strong defense like Soresu, while Djem So focuses on offense. With Shien, the Jedi deflect blasters and deflect bullets back to where they came from with great accuracy, hitting opponents with their own bullets.

Unlike Form III, which only emphasizes defense, Shien's idea is to overwhelm the opponent with unexpected offense. While the Shien is great for deflecting bullets back at the opponent, it was developed with Makashi (Form II) in mind for precise attacks against lightsaber wielders. For this reason, the second half Djem So was created after Shien.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form VI: Niemann

The sixth form of the lightsaber is called Nieman, also known as the way of resentment, temperance form, and diplomat form. Form VI, Nyman, is a lightsaber hybrid form that senses all previous lightsaber forms. It contains several elements from all lightsaber forms, from Shii-Cho (Form I) to Shien (Form V).

Niemann has a certain advantage over other forms because it infuses into one form all the essential elements of the previous form, thus leaving no weakness. At the same time, it also lacks other forms, and it does not perceive any form as perfect.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms

Form VII: Vaapad

Mace Windu was a legendary Jedi Master and member of the Jedi Council. He is also believed to be more powerful than Master Yoda. Mace Windu modified Form VII Juyo and named the Form Vaapad.

Mace Windu fixed the Juyo form, making it safe for Jedis to learn it. He found a way to let your negativity flow without getting out of hand. He trained himself to exercise self-control in order to control his negative emotions. Vaapad follows the same physical and mental strategy. Windu let his mental stress push his emotions to a safe limit in order to gain the immense power that the VII form has to offer.


Analysis Of 7 Lightsaber Combat Forms