The Four Main Types Of Lightsabers In Star Wars

The Four Main Types Of Lightsabers In Star Wars

We've been watching many different kinds of lightsabers since we were kids. You might be wondering what types of lightsabers are in Star Wars, and which Jedi or Sith used. Do not wonder anymore because now you will get the detailed answer. So, let's take a deeper look.

1. Standard lightsaber

A standard lightsaber is a very common lightsaber used by most Jedi Knights. In nature, the green and blue colors of Kyber crystals are common, so most standard lightsabers are blue and green. However, some rarer colors such as white, yellow or purple can also be seen in these standard lightsabers.

While blue and green lightsabers are used by thousands of Jedi, let's talk about the ones that stand out. First, we saw Jedi Master Qui-Gon wielding a green lightsaber in Star Wars: Episodes 1, 2, and 3. He fights Darth Maul alongside his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi in the second episode of the prequel. Obi-Wan also uses a standard green lightsaber like Hi Master. The one with the standard purple lightsaber is Mace Windu. A unique and powerful lightsaber, Mace Windu, destroyed thousands of droids.

We can see many other Jedis using this standard lightsaber, not only in movies or series, but in almost all classic comics.

2. CrossGuard lightsaber

The crossguard is an ancient lightsaber used by Makashi practitioners. Lightsaber have a long blade with a cross design on the hilt, called quillons.

A Sith Lord named Darth Atrius owned a crossed lightsaber in his early days. You can see it in detail in the "Supreme Republic" comic. A famous character who wields a crossguard lightsaber is Kylo Ren. Kylo Ren, son of Han and Leia Skywalker.

The Four Main Types Of Lightsabers In Star Wars

3. Sith lightsaber

The lightsabers owned and used by the Sith Lords are known as Sith lightsabers. Sith knew the ways of the Force, but were lured to the dark side. Aside from the red blade, a Sith lightsaber looks similar to other lightsabers.

The Kyber crystals used to create the red lightsaber do not exist in nature. Sith Lords turn ordinary kyber crystals red by pouring out negative emotions such as anger, fear, or hatred through a ritual known as bleeding. All Sith Lords who appear in the Star Wars saga wield a Sith lightsaber.

4. Double-edged lightsaber

As far as looks go, the double-bladed lightsaber is one of the coolest lightsabers around. It is like a long knife with a handle inside and blades on both sides. Very few people own this type of lightsaber, probably because it is difficult to use properly.

A famous character who wields a double-bladed lightsaber is Darth Maul. Since he is a Sith Lord, the blade of his lightsaber is pure red. Darth Maul is a strong character on the dark side of the Force.

There are also a few other characters who wield double-bladed lightsabers. Asajj Ventress, known as the Sith Assassin, also used a double-edged lightsaber in the "Clone Wars" series. If you've played Star Wars: Jedi Order, you know that a character named Kal Kestis also wields a double-bladed lightsaber.